Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Our menu this week August 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayrose @ 2:52 am

Our menu came together from a variety of sources this week.  Usually I end up searching the internet and my cookbooks over the weekend to find 6 or 7 meals.  This week, I was lucky to have some suggestions and ideas from people and places.

Tonight, we had gnocchi with creamy pesto and ground beef.  We used to make this a lot, but haven’t had it in a long time.  Ross randomly thought of it, so we added it to the menu.  I just brown some ground beef with some garlic and minced onion, along with a little salt and pepper.  I make a packet of Knorr cream pesto sauce and boil some gnocchi.  I mix it all together and top it with Parmesan cheese.  It’s quick and simple and tastes pretty good.

We are having stuffed peppers one night.  I haven’t made them in a long time, and we’re trying a new recipe this time.  We were going to have these tonight, but I messed up and only bought one can of tomato soup.  Grrrr.

Ross was super sweet this week and remembered that I’ve been craving cold salads lately.  He searched for some and sent me this recipe for Broccoli and Tortellini Salad.  It sounds amazing and I can’t wait to eat it.

When I was in Walmart this week, I passed one of those displays in the middle of the aisle.  It had a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s Buffalo Chicken Dipping Sauce on it for $1.98.  I absolutely love Buffalo anything, so I figured I’d give it a try.  We’re going to have wraps with chicken tenders, tomatoes, cheddar cheese, red onion and this sauce.  Our plan is to have those tomorrow since they’ll be quick and Monday is gymnastics night.

My friend Jennifer knows that we love tomato pie – such a fresh, delicious meal for a hot summer night.  She found this recipe that is similar to one that I shared with her, but slightly different.  We can’t wait to try it! 

One night we are having meatloaf (again) because I crave it a lot lately and because meatloaf mix meat was on sale this week.  I’m going to make roasted potatoes with a packet of onion soup mix that I have in the pantry.  I’m almost more excited for those!  I usually season them with my own spices, but this sounds extra good to me right now.

Last, we’ll be making Baked Spaghetti one  night.  We haven’t tried this recipe before, but Ross was craving baked spaghetti, so I found the recipe that seemed the best overall.  I hope it’s a keeper!

 

Leave a Reply

