Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Our menu this week June 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayrose @ 2:35 am

We have a busy week ahead of us.  My Mom comes to visit on Thursday (yay!), so we have some getting ready to do and then just the usual stuff.  We’re trying a few new recipes, sticking with a few staples, and throwing in some quick and easy non-recipes.

Last night, we tried something new from our latest Food Network magazine.  The recipe is for Grilled Pierogies and Kielbasa, but we didn’t grill anything.  It was hot out and we needed dinner ready in a hurry.  I threw the pierogies in a pot of boiling water and sautéed the onion and kielbasa in about a tablespoon of butter.  When both were finished, I tossed them together with the dressing.  I added about a tablespoon (or a little more?) of honey to the dressing to give it a little sweetness to balance out the vinegar and mustard.  We really liked this!  I think it took about 20 minutes total, if that, when prepared inside.  I am sure it would be better grilled (everything is), but in a pinch, this did just fine.

 

Tonight we had leftovers because we had a super ginormous lunch at my in-laws for Father’s Day.  It was delicious, and I am stuffed (though I will probably find some room for some more dessert in a little bit).

 

Tomorrow is gymnastics so we need something quick.  Because it tasted so good to us a few weeks ago, we are going to repeat Tortilla Pie.  I am sure there is a recipe for this somewhere (my sister first shared it with me), but the general idea is to place a tortilla in the bottom of a pie plate and layer delicious stuff in between the tortillas.  My sister is a vegetarian and this recipe is supposed to be, but we add some meat.  We generally do tortilla, refried beans,  ground beef (browned with some cumin and chili powder, etc – whatever spices sound good), salsa, cheese, repeat.  We finish with cheese on top and bake for about 15-20 minutes at 350.  Served with sour cream, salsa and some sautéed Mexi-corn, this is just delicious and couldn’t be easier.

 

Tuesday I think we’re going to have spaghetti and meat sauce – because it is quick, easy, and we all love it. 

 

Wednesday I am planning on doing some marathon cleaning, so I don’t want to worry about dinner.  I’ll run home at lunch time and toss Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff in the crock pot and we can eat whenever we are ready.  Aaaahhhh, I love my crock pot.  Actually  , I hate mine, but I love the concept in general.  A new one to replace my good one that I broke is at the top of my wish list!

 

Thursday Mom will be here!  Madden and I will pick her up at the airport and then come home for dinner.  We’re going to have Three Cheese Chicken Penne Florentine because it is absolutely delicious and I can prepare it ahead of time.  My friend Jennifer made this meal for us when Madden was born and we’ve made it several times ourselves since.  We can’t get enough of it. 

 

Friday night, Ross is on his own – it’s GNO with my Mom and sister!

 

Saturday, we’re heading to 18 Seaboard for dinner.  I’ve heard lots of good things about this restaurant, so I can’t wait to try it!

 

Leave a Reply

