Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake August 19, 2010

Filed under: Desserts,The Herald Columns — lindsayrose @ 2:38 am

The brain of a woman doesn’t always make all that much sense.  I am aware of that and happy to admit it.  It is good, however, to have confirmation that your brain isn’t the only one that works in a dysfunctional sort of a way.

Over the past few months Ross has started working out.  While I know that should make me happy and proud of him, it has frustrated me.  I have tried to figure out why I had this underlying feeling of bitterness when he talks about working out, but I haven’t been able to make sense of it in my head.  Similarly, when I go to put a dab of butter in the vegetables at dinner, he’ll ask to serve his before I add the butter.  While I know I should be proud of him for being healthy (and maybe go ahead and skip the butter myself), it just brings up those same feelings of frustration.  Then, like women do, I get frustrated at myself for being frustrated.  Which means I am just a big ol’ mess.

A few weeks ago while taking a day trip for work, I tuned into a morning radio show.  A man called in explaining that he had been working out and was in the best shape of his life.  Much to his dismay, instead of being excited for him, his wife was annoyed with him.  The female host of the show explained that while it doesn’t make sense, when the man in the relationship is taking better care of himself, it automatically makes us feel guilty for not doing so.  We then tend to express this in frustration and/or anger.  While it sure sounds ridiculous when you hear someone else talk about it, I felt better knowing that I wasn’t the only crazy one out there!  Maybe I’m normal after all!

Since I have no interest in starting a workout regime at this point, or to cut out desserts, I’ve got to try to convert Ross to my unhealthy lifestyle instead of the other way around.  It’s hard to get him to eat desserts, but I can usually tempt him with a cheesecake.  Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake is a delicious, refreshing treat.  And, since it has fruit in it, it’s healthy.  It’s easy to make and if you really work that mixer, you can get a good arm workout in while you’re preparing it!

Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

1 ready crust chocolate pie crust (6 ounces)

6 ounces cream cheese, softened

1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk

1 egg

3 tablespoons lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

Preheat oven to 350.  With a mixer, beat cream cheese until fluffy; gradually beat in condensed milk until smooth.  Add egg, lemon juice and vanilla; mix well.  Arrange raspberries on bottom of ready crust.  Pour cheese mixture over fruit.  Bake 30-35 minutes or until center is almost set.  Cool, top with chocolate glaze.  Chill.

Chocolate Glaze

In small saucepan over low heat, melt 2 (1 ounce each) squares semi-sweet baking chocolate with ¼ cup whipping cream.  Cook and stir until thickened and smooth.  Remove from heat.

 

Leave a Reply

