Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

(Lots) More Baby Food August 2, 2010

Filed under: Baby Food — lindsayrose @ 3:05 am

More and more each day, I realize how much I love making Madden’s food.  It is funny to me because I would have never ever thought that I would be doing this, and now it is one of my favorite things.  In no way do I think that baby food that comes in jars is bad, I just think that it is fun and rewarding to make it myself.  I love making something and then watching him dig in, seeing that he loves it, and knowing that it is jam packed full of good stuff.  In a weird sort of a way, it almost feels kind of like a bonding experience for me.  Strange, I know.

This weekend, I made him more peas because he absolutely loves peas.  Food Lion frozen peas are beyond delicious.  I have no idea why they taste so much better than any other kind of frozen pea I have tasted, but they do.  I put them in my Pampered Chef Micro Cooker (love it) with a splash of water and popped them in the microwave.  Because he will only put peas in his mouth, but not doing anything with them after that, I still give them a rough chop.  I tossed them in an ice cube tray, and 8 minutes later had 7 servings of peas for the little man.

I’ve found out this week that Madden loves corn as well.  I wanted to add some more nutrition to the corn, so I boiled it with some black beans (rinsed to get rid of as much of the nasty bean juice as possible) and a pinch of cumin.  I tossed those in the chopper and had 9 more servings of veggies in under ten minutes. 

Wholesomebabyfood.com has been my go-to website ever since I have started feeding Madden solids.  It has lots of great information, right down to what foods are good to mix together.  There is a great finger foods section that had a recipe for Apple Turkey Loaf.  I tossed the ingredients together and threw it in the oven in no time at all, and ended up with a new favorite for my little guy.  He loves this stuff.  This is going to be a new staple in our freezer!

This evening, I needed to use up some blueberries that were about to go bad.  I also had some very ripe bananas, so I googled something like “baby banana bread” and found this recipe.  I wasn’t sure whether it would be good or not, but I was pleasantly surprised.  The fruit gives it just enough sweetness.  Because Madden is under a year, I used 2 egg yolks instead of a whole egg.  I also didn’t have any self-rising flour, so I threw in a teaspoon of baking soda.  Madden was already asleep by the time it had cooled, but we’re going to test this out in the morning!

 

Leave a Reply

