Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Sweet Sunday July 19, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Crock Pot,Desserts — lindsayrose @ 3:37 am

Sunday always has that double-edged sword feel to it.  I try so hard not to spend Sunday thinking about all that lies ahead of me for the coming week.  I try to spend my week being sure that I am caught up, so that I don’t have to spend all day Sunday catching up – feeling as though I am losing a whole day of my weekend.  Cleaning bathrooms, dusting, grocery shopping, folding laundry – not my favorite ways to spend one of my two days per week off.

Today, my in-laws came over for lunch.  I wanted to enjoy the time that we had over the weekend and not feel as though we were running around like crazy trying to get our lives in order and trying to get everything ready for both the day AND the week ahead – I wanted it to be enjoyable, not stressful.  I found a quick and easy recipe to make for lunch, slow cooker pulled pork.  We made baked beans and my mother and father in law brought corn on the cob.  It was all pretty tasty, and took about 10 minutes to throw together on Sunday morning.

For dessert, I tried a new cake.  I found the recipe for Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cake and thought it sounded worth a try.  Well, everyone agreed that it was delicious – even Ross who is not a dessert lover (crazy man).  We served it with a scoop of coffee ice cream, and the flavors went together really well.  Some of the reviews mentioned adding cinnamon, which I intended to do but forgot.  It would be good, but isn’t necessary – it is super tasty just like this.  In fact, I think I am going to go get another piece right now…

 

One Response to “Sweet Sunday”

  1. stipton Says:

    The cake was great–we had it twice at home w/vanilla ice cream–just delicious!


Leave a Reply

