Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Ham and Asparagus Strata August 26, 2009

Filed under: Comfort Foods,Entrees,Websites — lindsayrose @ 2:59 am

Once again, it’s been awhile!

My sister had a baby shower for me this past weekend and there was a bunch of leftovers, including some leftover ham.  I decided at the last minute today to search for a recipe that I could make to use up the ham.  I went to the Campbell’s website, a place I rarely go, but I thought I’d give it a try.  I found this recipe for Ham and Asparagus Strata and I really loved it. 

Here’s the basic idea:

Chop up ham, add to a casserole dish with 4 cups of dry stuffing, 2 cups of Swiss cheese and about 3/4 lb of asparagus, cooked.  In a separate bowl, whisk together 5 eggs, a tablespoon of Dijon mustard, a can of cream of asparagus or cream of mushroom soup, and 2 cups of milk.  Mix it all together and pour it over the ham and stuffing mixture.  Bake (recipe says 45 min but mine was in for over an hour before the eggs seemed cooked through).

 

This was really easy and really tasty.  I love the combination of ham, Swiss, asparagus and mustard.  The stuffing and soup/egg mixture was an added treat.  A great way to use up leftover ham!

As a side note, while looking for recipes, I went to the Kraft website, another place I don’t visit often.  I love it because you can put in a few ingredients that you are craving and it will spit out recipes that contain those.  Brilliant idea!  I’m making 2 recipes this week from that site so I will be sure to share those as well!

 

Leave a Reply

