Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Spicy Three Pepper Hummus July 14, 2009

Filed under: Appetizers,Life,Vegetarian — lindsayrose @ 2:58 am

For the past two years, my sister’s birthday gift to me has been a country concert mega-ticket.  For those of you who aren’t country music followers, this is an awesome gift.  It is a pass to every country concert at Walnut Creek all summer.  The concerts this summer include George Strait, Brad Paisley, Toby Keith, Alan Jackson, Rascal Flatts and Kenny Chesney.  In addition to being awesome concerts, it is great to have a guaranteed night with my sister every few weeks throughout the summer.  We have so much fun, and count down the days to each concert.  If that isn’t a great birthday gift, I don’t know what is.  I have an awesome sister 🙂

 

Of course, one of the highlights of the concerts is the tailgating.  This year, my tailgating is a bit different of course.  The first concert I just had water, but I felt kind of left out.  The second one, I brought bottled root beer, but then I just felt like people were looking at me like “what is that pregnant lady doing drinking beer”.  This past weekend we went to see Toby Keith, who was by far our favorite last year.  This year he didn’t disappoint, he actually surpassed our expectations.  To toast Toby, I had some fake mojitos made from a mix Ross bought me mixed with some club soda.  They are surprisingly delicious and refreshing!

 

Along with the drinks, tailgating obviously includes food.  Kara and I start planning our snack menu days in advance.  I wasn’t sure what I wanted to make this time, but I found this recipe for hummus and I thought it sounded great.  I love hummus, and thought it would be fun to experiment with.  I was proud of Sanford, because I was pretty sure I wouldn’t find tahini anywhere locally, but Lowe’s carried it!

 

This recipe is quick and easy to make and tastes great.  Like the reviews said, you definitely need more liquid.  Despite my hatred for bean juice, I did reserve some from when I drained the garbanzo beans and added that.  It wasn’t enough, so I added more olive oil and a little water.  To cut on the spice a little bit, I added a little extra lemon juice.  I added only 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper instead of 1 1/2 and it was perfect, it actually gets less spicy the longer you let the flavors work together.  I brought some garlic Parmesan pita chips to eat along with this and it was delicious!

 

Now that I have a big container of tahini, I am excited to experiment with a bunch of different flavors of hummus!

 

4 Responses to “Spicy Three Pepper Hummus”

  1. Mark Says:

    I tried this hummus and it was great! (spicy) I predict that the Alan Jackson show will be the best of the year!!

  2. lindsayrose Says:

    I’m glad you liked it, Mark! I can’t wait for AJ – but I am a bit terrified of your ensemble… I might need to wear a disguise.

  3. […] after my recent experiment with Spicy Three Pepper Hummus, I decided to try a few different types.  I made three, Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus, Basil and […]

  4. Patty Jordan Says:

    Hey Lindsay! I can’t wait to try your hummus recipe. I used to make it often many years ago. I didn’t know you were a country music fan! I love your blog!


Leave a Reply

