Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Taco Pizza July 13, 2009

Filed under: Entrees — lindsayrose @ 2:30 am

I’ve never really stolen anything, but I suppose I’ve come close.  In high school, one of my jobs during the summer was to work at a local ice cream stand.  I ate my share of ice cream (which was ok – I think), but when it got late, we would call our friends who worked at the pizza parlor across the street.  We’d strike a deal – we’ll give you free sundaes if you bring us free pizza.  Probably not the most honest thing to do.  I remember so many of those late nights cleaning the ice cream machines and eating slice upon slice of taco pizza – my favorite from the pizza place. 

As Ross makes super good homemade pizza now, I’ve been thinking of taco pizza a lot.  I decided that this week we were going to try to make it.  I found this recipeon allrecipes.com, and it turned out so super delicious.  Instead of making this crust, we used the recipe for crust that Ross uses (recipe in this post). 

The basic idea is to start with a dough – either homemade or store bought.  Mix together a  can of refried beans, 1/3 cup salsa and 1/4 cup chopped onions.  That is spread on top of the dough.  Next, mix together a 6 oz can of tomato paste, 3/4 cup water and some spices including chili powder, taco seasoning mix, and cayenne pepper.  That goes on top of the bean mixture.  Ground beef browned with a little taco seasoning and a splash of water is spread on top.  Sprinkle all with cheddar cheese and bake.

Oh my goodness.  So tasty.  We topped it with shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes and sour cream when we served it.  This recipe makes 2 pizzas, so we only  made one.  We’re planning on using the leftovers later this week for either another pizza, nachos or some other Mexican concoction!

 

One Response to “Taco Pizza”

  1. Amy Says:

    Taco pizza is one of my favorites!!! I can’t wait to try this recipe!


Leave a Reply

