Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Creamy Balsamic Chicken June 25, 2009

Filed under: Entrees,Uncategorized — lindsayrose @ 2:56 am

I had planned on making a different balsamic chicken meal tonight – one that called for sun dried tomatoes.  Well, the only ones in stock at the grocery store cost over $7 and I thought that was absurd.  I like them, but I don’t love them, and they are definitely not worth $7 to me.  So, I just figured I’d compromise when it came time to cook the meal.  When I got home and told Ross, he informed me that he doesn’t really like sun dried tomatoes anyway… news to me, but it worked out well!

So, tonight I had to come up with something for our chicken.  I kind of had the balsamic idea in my head, so I searched for some recipes.  I found one on all recipes.com that I modified a bit.  Here’s what I did:

I sprinkled the chicken breasts with salt pepper, and a tiny bit of garlic powder.  In about a tablespoon of olive oil, I sauteed a sliced onion until they were golden brown.  I placed the onion in an 8×8 baking dish and added a bit more olive oil to the skillet.  I browned the chicken on both sides (3-4 minutes on each side) and then put them on top of the onions.

Meanwhile, I made the sauce.  In a saucepan I melted 2 tablespoons of butter with 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  I added 2 cloves of minced garlic and cooked for a few minutes until golden brown.  I added 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and cooked for another minute.  I then added 2 teaspoons of chicken boullion and about a tablespoon of flour and whisked it all together.  I slowly added about a cup of milk and cooked it until it was just at a simmer.  Once I removed it from the heat, I added somewhere between 1/4 and 1/2 (maybe 1/3?) cup of parmesan cheese and whisked the sauce until the cheese was incorporated.  I poured this over the chicken and baked it for about 40 minutes at 350.

It turned out so good!  We had this over some whole wheat egg noodles.  I like most healthy things, but I do not like whole wheat pasta at all.  It has a gummy texture to me which just doesn’t seem right for pasta.  Ross loves it and buys it when he is in charge of shopping.  I decided to be nice and cooked the whole wheat egg noodles with the meal tonight, and with the creamy sauce over it, they weren’t all that bad.  I still prefer regular or spinach pasta, but I can handle the whole wheat now and then. 

We had some peas on the side, and for a girl whose food isn’t typically allowed to touch, they even tasted pretty good with some sauce touching them!

 

Leave a Reply

