Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork June 17, 2009

Filed under: Crock Pot,Entrees — lindsayrose @ 1:22 am

OK, I know I’ve said a lot of meals that I’ve made were easy, but I really think this one takes the cake. 

  • Toss a pork tenderloin in the crock pot
  • Pour a bottle of root beer over it
  • Cook for 6-7 hours
  • Remove pork, pour in a bottle of BBQ sauce
  • Pull pork apart, put back in crock pot and cook for another 20-30 minutes.

Seriously, that is all.  All I did this morning before I left was toss meat in the pot and pour root beer over it.  And dinner was pretty much ready when I got home!  And it tasted soooooooo good.  Ross can’t stand root beer, so I thought about lying to him about it, but I was nice and told him.  He still loved it.  It was the perfect combination of sweet and tangy, and a nice mix between a thin, vinegar sauce and a thick BBQ sauce.  I am sure you could use any cut of pork and not just a tenderloin, but they were on sale so that is what I bought.  The recipe, shockingly, is from allrecipes.com.

We had this with some cole slaw that I wanted to love but I didn’t.  It was a Sandra Lee recipe, a combination of slaw mix, mayo, sour cream, lime juice and hot sauce.  It was way too lime-y and didn’t taste really like slaw to me.  I think I’ll search for a new recipe for next time.  We had some fries and baked beans, too.  A great meal all in all!

 

One Response to “Slow Cooker Pulled Pork”

  1. […] I wanted it to be enjoyable, not stressful.  I found a quick and easy recipe to make for lunch, slow cooker pulled pork.  We made baked beans and my mother and father in law brought corn on the cob.  It was all pretty […]


Leave a Reply

