Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

I think I love Robin Miller June 9, 2009

Filed under: Entrees — lindsayrose @ 3:15 am

Who knew?  I don’t know if I have ever even really watched her show, but I sure love her cookbook.  I haven’t made anything from it yet that wasn’t a success.  Tonight’s meal was no different.  We are going to be home late tomorrow night, so I wanted to make dinner for tonight and for tomorrow.  It worked out perfectly, because this chicken had to marinate for about a half hour, so I was able to make the marinade, cook tomorrow night’s dinner while it sat, and then cook tonight’s meal.  It made a bunch of work really easy to do!  It felt like I only cooked one meal.

For tonight, I made Garlic-Lemon Chicken Thighs from Robin Miller’s The Newlywed Cookbook.  It was quick, easy and so flavorful.  It wasn’t too lemony or too garlicky, it was just a nice combination of flavors that just kind of made their own unique flavor.  We served it along with some teriyaki rice and some steamed broccoli and cauliflower.  The extra sauce tasted great over the veggies!  The meal I made for tomorrow is stuffed shells, which I made a little differently this time.  I’ll share that tomorrow, but I have to taste it first!

Garlic-Lemon Chicken Thighs

4 garlic cloves, peeled

1/4 cup lemon juice

2 tablespoons molasses

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

nonstick cooking spray

In a blender, combine garlic, lemon juice, molasses and Worcestershire sauce.  Puree until smooth.  Transfer marinade to a large zip top bag and add chicken thighs.  Seal and shake gently to coat chicken with mixture.  Refrigerate 20 minutes (and up to 24 hours).  Ross taught me to always poke holes in the meat with a fork before marinating and then all of the juices get into the meat.  I did that, and it turned out incredibly tender and juicy.

Preheat oven to 425.

Remove chicken from bag, reserving marinade, and arrange thighs in a shallow roasting pan that has been coated in nonstick cooking spray.  Pour over remaining marinade and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Bake 25-30 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through, spooning marinade over chicken halfway through cooking time.

*This marinade would be good on different kinds of meat, and would be great grilled, too!
 

Leave a Reply

