Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Creamy Dijon Chicken June 3, 2009

Filed under: Comfort Foods,Entrees — lindsayrose @ 2:59 am

I was really wanting something mustardy for dinner tonight, and I needed to use the chicken that I had thawed.  Being on the fresh veggie kick that I am, I wanted lots of veggies, too.  So, this is what I came up with.  We both really loved it.  I have to warn you, I didn’t measure a blessed thing while I was concocting it, so the measurements are all guesses.  When you make the sauce, just keep tasting it until you like the flavor.  Add other stuff if you want, or use different veggies.  This one was totally made up as I went, so there are no rules!  (The basic cream sauce I do measure, just to be sure to get the right consistency, but all of the “flavor” stuff I don’t measure).

Creamy Dijon Chicken

1 lb chicken breasts

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

1 crown broccoli, chopped into bite sized chunks

1/3 head of cauliflower, chopped into bite sized chunks

2-3 carrots, peeled and sliced

4-6 oz fresh mushrooms

3 tablespoons butter

3 tablespoons flour

1 1/2 cups milk

2 tablespoons dijon mustard

1 to 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

6 strips bacon

 

Heat olive oil over medium high heat.  Brown chicken, about 4-5 minutes on each side.  Set chicken aside, add 1 tablespoon butter to skillet, add raw veggies.  Saute until crisp-tender, about 7-8 minutes.  While veggies are cooking, cut chicken into strips and cook bacon.  Set bacon aside on paper towel to absorb grease.  Prepare sauce by melting 3 tablespoons butter in medium saucepan over medium heat.  Whisk in flour, slowly add milk until thickened.  Add cheese, stir until melted.  Add salt, pepper and onion powder.  Add chicken, veggies and sauce to a casserole dish.  Bake at 350 for about 25 minutes.  Add crumbled bacon on top, bake for an additional 10-15 minutes. 

 

We served this with some rice pilaf, which was perfect because we could pour some of the tasty sauce over it!

 

2 Responses to “Creamy Dijon Chicken”

  1. kiminsanford Says:

    This sounds great – except the cheese part, of course! ha-ha

    Funny thing is that I almost made chicken basted with honey mustard dressing for dinner tonight! I bought the chicken and the dressing and had planned to bake up enough to last a couple meals, but changed my mind and just munched on some raw veggies, instead.

    Great minds……and all that!

  2. lindsayrose Says:

    I thought about you, Kim! You could definitely leave the cheese out and it would be fine! Now I want your idea of the chicken with honey mustard dressing. Do you just pour it over the chicken and bake it? That sounds good!

    Yeah… great minds for sure!


Leave a Reply

