Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Minced Onion March 8, 2009

Filed under: Breakfast,Entrees — lindsayrose @ 1:26 am

Growing up, I hated onions.  I even remember my Mom making French Onion Soup and straining all of the onions out of mine.  I guess I liked the flavor, but not the onions themselves.  Maybe it was a texture thing, I’m not sure.  Either way, I got over it and now I absolutely love onions.  I also dearly love dried minced onion, which isn’t really the same as fresh onion at all, but still has a great flavor.

 

If you asked my Mom what foods I made the best, she would most likely give you two answers.  One would be scrambled eggs and the other would be tuna.  Random, I know.  Though the two of those sound completely different, I am quite convinced that it is the secret ingredient in both of those that make them her favorite.  Every time I visit home, I am spoiled by lots of delicious meals by my mother…  but only if I make her scrambled eggs and tuna in return.

 

When making scrambled eggs, I just put the eggs in a bowl, toss in a splash of milk, a little bit of salt and pepper and somewhere between a teaspoon and a tablespoon of dried minced onion, depending on how many eggs I’m making.  Scramble it all up and toss it in a skillet with some melted butter and you have yourself a delicious breakfast treat with a slight twist.  If you’re extra lucky, you can toss it on a bagel from the Bagel Shoppe in Sanford with a slice of bacon and some melted cheddar cheese, just like we did this morning.  Then you’ve really got a treat.  (It’s even better with some ketchup tossed on, but that is a whole separate post).

 

The tuna also has a few teaspoons of minced onion in it, but has an extra secret ingredient as well… about 1/2 teaspoon of dried dill weed.  Mix it up with the tuna and mayo/miracle whip of your choice, salt and pepper, and once again you’ve got a twist on an old favorite.  It might sound weird, but I swear it is delicious.

 

Try it and tell me what you think!  Anybody else have secret ingredients for scrambled eggs or tuna?

 

Leave a Reply

