Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Quick and Easy Pork Chops January 15, 2009

Filed under: Entrees — lindsayrose @ 2:21 am

I had pork chops, but didn’t want to go to the store to buy anything.  So, I had to hunt through the kitchen to figure out something to do with them.  I saw a can of green beans and a can of whole tomatoes, and was reminded of  a great recipe, My Chicken Milano.  I’ve blogged about this one before, it is quick and easy and very tasty.  I decided to make a variation with pork chops.  Here’s what I did:

 

3 cloves garlic

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 lb pork chops

1 large can whole tomatoes, undrained(stewed would be easier!)

1 14.5 oz can green beans, drained

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

1 teaspoon sugar

salt and pepper to taste

 

Heat skillet over medium high heat.  Add olive oil and minced garlic.  Brown pork chops a few minutes on each side, seasoning with salt and pepper to your liking. Crush tomatoes in your hands (this is why it is easier if they are stewed to begin with!) and pour over pork chops.  Add green beans, red wine vinegar and sugar.  Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer 30 minute or until pork chops are cooked through.

 

This is pretty good, considering I was really winging it!  It will be one that I look forward to playing more with in the future.  I served it alongside a box of Italian Herb and Cheese rice.

 

Leave a Reply

