Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Ham Cheddar Chowder January 4, 2009

Filed under: Comfort Foods,Entrees,Soups — lindsayrose @ 6:03 pm

Ooooooh, this was good.  I bought some ham the other day because it was a good deal.  I decided yesterday that it was a good day for a soup and figured I use the ham in it.  I looked all around the Internet to find a good recipe.  I wanted to notstart at allrecipes.com, because that is where I always go for my recipes and I figured I’d try something different.  Well, I couldn’t find anything that was just what I was looking for, so I ended up at allrecipes and found something great!  I guess I should just stick with what I already know I like. 

 

The recipe for Ham Cheddar Chowder sounded delicious and had great reviews.  I took some advice from one of the reviewers and made some of my own changes as well.  Here’s what I did.  The stuff in italics is what I added that the recipe didn’t call for.  I also changed some of the amounts.

 

4 cups water

4 cups peeled and diced white potatoes

1 cup shredded carrots

1 cup celery

1 onion, diced

1 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspon dried thyme

6 tablespoons butter

6 tablespoons flour

4 cups milk ( I used skim and it was still perfectly thick and creamy)

1 14.5 oz can chicken broth

2 jalapenos, seeded, ribbed and diced small (if you take out the seeds and ribs, they aren’t the least bit hot, just flavorful)

2 cups fully cooked, cubed ham

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

 

In a large stockpot or Dutch oven, cover potatoes, carrots, celery, onions, salt and pepper with the 4 cups of water (or however much you need, it really doesn’t matter).  Bring to a boil and reduce heat.  Simmer for about 20 minutes or until veggies are tender. Drain, set vegetables aside.

 

In the same pot, melt the butter.  Whisk in the flour until smooth.  Slowly add milk, whisking as you add it.  Bring to a boil, cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. 

 

**The original recipe says to remove it from the heat here, add the cheese and stir in veggies and ham, returning to heat until warmed through.  Most of the reviews said that the taste was better if you let the veggies simmer for awhile, so I strayed from the recipe a bit.

Add vegetable mixture, thyme, jalapenos and ham.  It was really thick for me at this point, so that is why I went ahead and added the can of chicken broth.  I was glad I did, it ended up a perfect consistency and had a great flavor.  Allow this to simmer (we left it for an hour or so).  Remove from heat and add cheese.  Stir until cheese is melted throughout.

SO good!  We had a spinach salad along with it and I was beyond full.  I am about to have it all over again for lunch!

 

Leave a Reply

