Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Chicken Pesto Burgers December 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayrose @ 3:05 am

I’ve had a packet of pesto mix in the pantry for a few weeks, and lately I’ve really been craving it.  I’ve made some recipes in the past with ground chicken and pesto which were good, but I didn’t really feel like those tonight.  I did have ground chicken that I needed to use, so I figured I’d come up with something new.  I decided to combine the pesto with the chicken and make burgers.  This is roughly what I ended up doing.  I didn’t measure anything, so these are just guesses.

 

 1 lb ground chicken

8 oz fresh mushrooms

1/4 cup prepared pesto sauce (I used a packet of McCormick pesto that I made, but Classico makes some in a jar that is really good too)

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/8 cup breadcrumbs

salt and pepper to taste

sesame buns

4 tablespoons pesto

4 slices provolone cheese

 

Place mushrooms in a food processor and finely chop.  Mix with ground chicken, pesto, garlic powder, breadcrumbs, salt and pepper.  Form into patties.  Grill until cooked throughout.

 

Spread additional pesto on sesame buns.  Place under broiler until golden brown.  Top with provolone cheese and chicken burger.

 

I was super happy with the way these turned out!  They held together well and had a really nice flavor.  We’ll make these again for sure!

 

Leave a Reply

