Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Thanksgiving Treats November 27, 2008

Filed under: Appetizers,Side Dishes,Vegetarian — lindsayrose @ 4:36 pm

In a little while, we will head over to the Tipton’s to celebrate Thanksgiving.  I can’t wait for a huge meal full of so many of my favorite things.  It is fun to share in the traditions of my “new” family and to bring some traditions from my family along with me. 

 

I offered to bring cornbread, because of this wonderful recipe that was given to me by Emily’s mom, Mrs. Waters.  This is the best cornbread I’ve ever had.  Emily has raved to me many times about her Mom’s cornbread, and I was so excited when Mrs. Waters gave me a homemade cookbook for a wedding gift, including this recipe.  It is easy to make, but has so much extra flavor than just a mix itself.

 

Corny Cornbread

2 boxes Jiffy cornbread

8 oz sour cream

3 eggs

1 large can cream style corn

1-2 tablespoons sugar

1/2-1 stick butter

 

Preheat oven to 350.  Melt 1/2 stick of butter in 13×9 pan.  Mix other ingredients.  Pour butter into batter, then pour the batter into the buttered pan.  Bake for 30-40 minutes until browned on the edges.  Melt the remaining 1/2 stick of butter and brush on top during the last few minutes of baking to make it browned and tasty!

 

I am also bringing some appetizers.  I found a recipe for Crock Pot Crab Dip on the Year of CrockPotting blog.  It sounded so good to me, and the Buffalo sauce reminds me of home.  It is in the crock pot now, and it smells and looks so delicious.  I can’t wait to taste it.

 

Since Ross is disgusted by crab meat (he is not thrilled with the smell in the house at the moment), I figured I’d make an appetizer that he would like as well.  I’m about to put together Feta Cheese Foldovers, a recipe that I found on allrecipes.com.  It sounds very easy, putting a mixture of feta cheese and some other tasty things on a puff pastry sheet and folding it over to make little triangles stuffed with cheesy goodness. 

 

Neither of these appetizers are super “Thanksgiving-y” but I think they’ll be good and we’ll still have all of the traditional foods to make it a true Thanksgiving.

 

I hope everyone has a wonderful day and remembers to think about all that we have to be thankful for.  I know I will be doing that all day.

 

4 Responses to “Thanksgiving Treats”

  1. Trina Says:

    This particular blog is one of my favorites. I am starving now. I am going to try it all. I can’t hardly wait for Emily’s cornbread and the crab dip. Woo Hoo! Got to go to the grocery store!

  2. lindsayrose Says:

    Thanks, Trina! Let me know how you like the stuff you try!

  3. Trina Says:

    Ok, I have made the cornbread twice now. The first time Friday for a dance at the Steven’s Center: It was quickly devoured. I had to make it again so we could at least get a taste. You are right; it is delicious. Thanks so much to you; Emily and Mrs. Waters!

  4. lindsayrose Says:

    I am so glad you like it!!! I’ve made it so many times in the past few months. I love it!


Leave a Reply

