Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Making the most of leftovers November 24, 2008

Filed under: Entrees,Salads — lindsayrose @ 3:18 am

This was, I do believe, the best meal we’ve ever had with leftovers.  I cleaned out the fridge today and it made me sick to throw out as much food as I did.  I feel like I am pretty good about bringing leftovers to work for lunch, but often times I just can’t finish them all, and even more often containers get trapped in the back of the fridge and I don’t even realize that they are there until it is time to throw them out. 

 

In my post from this morning, I described our Greek dinner from last night.  Tonight, we took the leftovers and made Greek salad.  I bought some chicken tenders and marinated them in the leftover Greek dressing.  Ross made more tzatziki sauce and we used that as dressing.  All I had to do was chop up some lettuce, red onion, tomato and green pepper.  Ross grilled some flatbread for dipping in the tzatziki on the side since we love it so much. 

 

It was absolutely delicious, very healthy, cost efficient and satisfying. 

 

I took a picture because it looked pretty, but I really shouldn’t do this.  I always wish I hadn’t.  I am way too OCD and it is annoying to me that the pita in the front right is sticking out so far.  Yes, I know this doesn’t matter, but it bugs me.  I am putting it in here anyway, but I had to mention that for my other OCD readers (you know who you are… Emily…).

 

Greek Salad

 

2 Responses to “Making the most of leftovers”

  1. Joe Jon Says:

    I had a 10-day tour of Greece back in the early 90’s with a basketball club and learned to love Greek food there. Your recipe looks delicious. And the leftovers (of which I am not a fan, good taste or not) you show here look scrumptious, too. We’re going to try that recipe soon, and make enough for leftovers! I’ll let you know how it turns out!

  2. lindsayrose Says:

    Please do let me know what you think! I hope you like it as well as we did. Ross isn’t a fan of leftovers either, but he loved the leftovers more than the original meal, so maybe you’ll be in luck.


Leave a Reply

