Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

The most disgusting moment of my life. November 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayrose @ 11:02 pm

I work with children.  I deal with a lot of nasty things.  Vomit, diarrhea, mucous and boogers are a part of my daily life.  I even had friends over last night and realized as they were about to leave that I had baby spit up all down my sleeve.  Once, while working on a brain injury unit in a hospital while in college, I had a full urinal thrown at me by an aggressive patient.

 

None of that really bothers me.

 

However, what happened today really bothers me.  Still.  The fact that my husband can’t stop laughing about it is not helping.  Since he is enjoying telling the story, I figured I’d get my version out there.

 

For the past few weeks, my car has had an odd odor.  I haven’t been able to figure it out. I like for things to be clean, so this has really been bugging me.  I’ve looked around the back seat to see if I left a tupperware container with leftover lunch food in it.  Nothing.  Last weekend, I took my car to the car wash and vacuumed out the whole inside.  I went to Wal-Mart and bought cleaner for the inside and car fresheners. 

 

It smelled like nastiness with vanilla mixed in.

 

Today, we headed to Chapel Hill to have lunch with Ross’ family.  On the way, Ross mentioned that my car smelled bad.  I explained my frustration with the issue and we drove on.  We had a nice lunch and walked back to the car.  When we got in, Ross said he wasn’t sure he could handle the ride all the way back with the stench.  He asked me to open my trunk so he could look in before we started driving.  He walked around to the back of the car and quickly called me to join him.  As he informed me that the stench was definitely coming from the trunk (the one place I didn’t check or clean, of course), I had to agree. 

 

It smelled like a dead animal. 

 

And maybe that is because there was one in my trunk.  Not a cat or a dog or a mouse or even a bird.

 

A cow.

 

Apparently a few weeks ago, after grocery shopping, I forgot a bag while unloading the car. 

 

A BAG OF STEAK.

 

I have been driving around for approximately 3 weeks with a rotten steak in my trunk.  It was the most disgusting thing I have ever seen or smelled.  I am not sure when I will be able to eat steak again.  I don’t think the image or odor will leave my mind for quite some time.

 

So, now I have to scrub out my trunk.  But I can’t, because it is raining and we don’t have a garage or even a carport.  So I have to sit inside and think of the smell in my trunk.  Sure, the steak is gone, but the smell may still linger until it gets a really good cleaning.

 

In case you’re interested, here’s my side of the story.  Ross helped me bring groceries in a few weeks ago.  I am SURE it must have been he who forgot the bag, not I.

 

8 Responses to “The most disgusting moment of my life.”

  1. kiminsanford Says:

    In support of your theory that it was Ross’s fault……notice that it was Ross who suddenly thought about looking in the trunk…..I’m just saying…..

  2. emilypage Says:

    Oh, that made me laugh so hard! Not just the story but the way you wrote it. I can’t believe in all that time, you had not thought to look in the trunk! And you are so anal about your groceries, I REALLY can’t belive you didn’t miss the steak! And how cool is it to say “my husband”?

    PS We aren’t at work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

  3. lindsayrose Says:

    Kim, that is a VERY good point. Thank you!

    Emily, I am glad I could make you laugh. I hope laughing didn’t make you cough too hard. Yes, we aren’t at work. And we won’t be tomorrow either!!!!!!

    Monday… debatable.

  4. Melissa W Says:

    Ewwwwwwwwwwwww! And I agree with Kim. If it was suddenly his idea to look in the truck, it was totally his fault.

  5. Larry Tipton Says:

    That gives a whole new meaning to the term “aged beef”.
    I guess now is not the best time to send you my fabulous new steak marinade recipe!

  6. Ross Tipton Says:

    First of all, lets think logically folks… She mentioned that she spent a long time “cleaning” her entire car and it still smelled. This was the first time I had rode in her car in a long time, so as soon as I beared the 40 min. to chapel hill with the windows down, trusting her cleaning abilities and figuring there must be water leaking in due to all the rain making the interior sour. Before we made the trip home that was the only realistic thing to check is the trunk, am I right???? her laughing husband 🙂

  7. kiminsanford Says:

    sorry, Ross — I didn’t mean to get you in so much trouble…. he-he-he

  8. homelessgirl Says:

    Omy goodness haha. I’m sorry but that is funny and really gross too.


Leave a Reply

