Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

My new favorite chicken November 14, 2008

Filed under: Entrees,Life — lindsayrose @ 1:15 am

I loooooooooooooooooved our dinner tonight. 

 

In college, I studied abroad for a semester in England at the University of Essex.  In my flat, there were 16 people, and if I remember correctly, we represented 9 different countries.  There were 8 rooms on one side and 8 rooms on the other with a kitchen in the middle.  Meal time was so much fun, because there were so many of us cooking the foods that we were used to, but that were foreign to most everyone else.  I lived with several people from India who cooked with curry a lot.  I have always liked the flavor, but it is so strong and distinct, I can only take it in small doses.  I’ve tried over the years to replicate some of the dishes that they made, but I haven’t quite been able to do it.

 

Well, this dish has curry in it, and just enough where you can taste the flavor, but not so much that it overwhelms it.  I’ve never paired it with sweet stuff, and I think it is perfect.  I am excited to experiment more with combinations like this.  I am not sure my Indian flatmates would have approved, but this American girl loved it. 

 

Honey Mustard Chicken from the allrecipes.com Easy Everyday Favorites cookbook is very delicious.  This recipe was incredibly easy, and bursting with flavor.  It does call for a whole chicken cut into 8 parts, which is nice because it is cheap to buy, but it sure was a pain to cut it all up this morning.  Next time I might just use chicken breasts and thighs.

 

Honey Mustard Chicken

1 (4 lb) whole chicken, cut into 8 pieces

1 t paprika

1/4 t ground pepper

1/2 t curry powder

3 T prepared Dijon-style mustard

1/4 c honey

2 T apricot jam

 

Sprinkle chicken with paprika, pepper, and curry powder.  Place in roasting pan (I used a 9×13 pan).  Combine mustard, honey, and jam in a small bowl.  Pour over chicken and marinate for 1 hour or overnight (I put it together this morning and let it marinate while I was at work all day).  Bake in a preheated oven at 350 for 1 hour, basting often.

 

2 Responses to “My new favorite chicken”

  1. Amy Says:

    This sounds delicious! I might try it over the weekend. We have a ton of boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the freezer, so I may use those instead of a whole chicken!!

  2. lindsayrose Says:

    Let me know if you try it! I hope you all like it as well as we did!


Leave a Reply

