Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Happy Birthday Ross! November 4, 2008

Filed under: Entrees — lindsayrose @ 12:54 am

Today is Ross’ 30th birthday. I like to say that he is now a decade older than me 🙂 Yeah, yeah, I know, that’s not really how it works. But it’s fun to say.

For dinner tonight, Ross picked Chicken Parmesan. I couldn’t have been happier, because Italian is my favorite, and sometimes I have to talk him into it.

Usually when I’ve gone out to eat and ordered chicken parm, it is always breaded and fried. While this does taste good, it’s just not really how I like it. It makes it too heavy for me along with all of the sauce and pasta and cheese. My Mom never fried anything when I was growing up, so my stomach just doesn’t tolerate it all that well. Plus, never having watched my Mom fry stuff, I don’t really know how to do it well.

So, here is my version of chicken parm. We love it, but if you are looking for the classic kind found in most restaurants, you might not like this. Unless you think of it as a baked chicken cacciatore or something…

1 T olive oil
1 sweet onion, sliced
1 green pepper, sliced
8 oz fresh mushrooms, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 t Italian seasoning
salt, pepper and red pepper flakes
1/3 c white wine
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 jar of sauce, I prefer Bertolli marinara
6 slices provolone cheese
1 c shredded mozzarella
parmesan cheese

Heat oil in large skillet. Add garlic, onions, peppers and mushrooms. Saute until tender, adding some seasoning to your liking (salt, pepper, Italian seasoning). Remove veggies from pan and set aside. Deglaze pan with the white wine. Season chicken with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes on both sides. Add to pan with the wine, brown 2-3 minutes per side.

In a casserole dish, cover bottom with thin layer of sauce. Place chicken breasts on top of sauce, add another layer of sauce. Place a slice of provolone on top of each chicken breast. Sprinkle shredded mozzarella on top, sprinkle with parmesan cheese. Pour vegetables on top of chicken, add more sauce (I use about 1/2 a jar total up to this point, reserving the rest for the pasta that I serve with the meal). Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. Place remaining 3 slices of provolone and other 1/2 c shredded mozzarella on top. Sprinkle with more parmesan cheese and some more Italian seasoning. Turn oven to broiler, broil for 5 minutes or until cheese is golden brown and bubble. Serve with pasta.

 

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday Ross!”

  1. kiminsanford Says:

    Many, many birthday wishes, Ross!!! Hope you had a great day!

    So – what was for dessert – that many candles would have melted the frosting off any cake! ha-ha

  2. lindsayrose Says:

    Ross has some sort of a mental problem and doesn’t really care about desserts (can you imagine?). I still had more chocolate cake left and we have leftover cheesecake in the fridge, so I didn’t make one. I almost made him a cake anyway, but I knew I would be the only one to eat it and that’s not good!


Leave a Reply

