Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

A dismal failure October 29, 2008

Filed under: Entrees,Life — lindsayrose @ 3:08 pm

Emily and I are in a training that started yesterday and goes through this afternoon.  As she was on her way to pick me up yesterday, I realized that I had pork chops in the fridge for dinner but didn’t know what I was going to do with them.  I got to thinking that I wouldn’t feel like coming up with something at 6:30 when I got back from Raleigh, so at 8:57, 3 minutes before Emily was due to pull in my driveway, I decided to literally throw a bunch of stuff into the crockpot.

 

I placed the pork chops in the crock pot and looked into the pantry to see what else I could dump. Here’s where I went wrong… I literally did just dump.  I put a can of pumpkin, some ground sage, a little white wine, salt and pepper, a couple splashes of balsamic vinegar and a little heavy cream.  By this time, Emiy was in the driveway so I turned the pot on low, set the timer for 8 hours and left. 

 

On my way home, I talked to Ross.  I asked him how the dinner looked and his response was “well, I don’t think it is gonna be one for the column”.  Uh oh.  He said that it smelled burnt and it looked like there was a dry paste on top of the meat.  Lovely.  When I came home and tested it, the flavor itself wasn’t bad, but I had to hurry to the closest beverage… red gatorade… to actually get the dry meat to go down my throat.  Not a good mixture, and not  a meal I wanted to sit down to.  

 

So, we went to Joe’s and we each had a cup of French onion soup and a grilled Buffalo chicken sandwich.  It was so tasty, and washing it down with a Jack and Coke was much better than pumpkin pork and red gatorade.  That’s for sure.

 

I think this recipe still has hope.  I think what I should have done is mixed all of the ingredients together in a bowl first, including enough wine and cream to make more of an actual sauce.  I think some sliced onion would have been good in there, too. 

 

Moral of the story:  Crock pots are good when you need a quick meal, but don’t be in such a hurry when you are putting it together for the first time!

 

Leave a Reply

