Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Dinner and a Friday Treat October 24, 2008

Filed under: Desserts,Entrees — lindsayrose @ 1:19 am

For dinner tonight, we had another Rachael Ray recipe found in the May ’08 issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray.  Ironically, the recipe came to me today in the weekly menu planner that Rachael (yes, she herself I am sure is the one who sends the messages) sends me.  The recipe is for Pepper Steak, and it was pretty good.  Not knock your socks off good, but tasty.  I don’t know what shell steaks are, so I bought some NY strips and they came out very tender and juicy. 

 

This week at work has been very, very rough for lots of reasons.  I felt like everyone could use a Friday treat, so I decided to make a recipe I found several years ago for pumpkin cookies.  I wanted to spice them up a little bit, so I added some cream cheese frosting to them.  I have to admit, I’ve already eaten one.  I mean, they wouldn’t all fit on the platter that I am taking to work, so what was I supposed to do with the extras?  I think I might need to eat another one in a few minutes.  They are gooooooood.

 

Pumpkin Cookies

1 box yellow cake mix

1 can pumpkin puree (I bought pumpkin pie filling by mistake and just used a little less than what was called for and they are fine).

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I didn’t have any, so I added some cinnamon, a little nutmeg and a few shakes of cloves)

1/4 c butter or margarine, softened

You can also add some raisins, chocolate chips (my personal favorite) or oats if you’d like.

 

Mix all ingredients, drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto cookie sheet. Bake at 375 for 11-12 minutes.

 

For the frosting, I just looked at a few different recipes and made this up with what I had at home.  I like it a lot.  Good texture for cookies or cakes.

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 c 10x sugar

8 oz cream cheese

1/4 c butter or margarine, softened

1 t vanilla

Mix all ingredients together until smooth.

 

Happy Fall!  I love pumpkin stuff!!!

 

2 Responses to “Dinner and a Friday Treat”

  1. emilypage Says:

    I’m so glad I work with you. Those cookies are AWESOME!!!

  2. lindsayrose Says:

    Wooo-hoooo! The dessert queen likes them! It is slightly intimidating to make desserts for you because they are your specialty. I am definitely more of a cook than a baker, so it makes me extra happy that you like them!


Leave a Reply

