Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Orange Beef and Broccoli October 23, 2008

Filed under: Entrees — lindsayrose @ 12:06 am

Tonight’s dinner came from the May ’08 issue of the Everyday with Rachael Ray magazine.  I had to go to the grocery store tonight to buy stuff for the next few nights and I really wasn’t in the mood to search around for recipes.  I went to my stack of magazines,looked through and quickly found a few.  I wasn’t in the mood for chicken, Ross wasn’t too into the idea of ground turkey and we’ve recently had pork chops and ham.  So that left beef.  I don’t really make a lot of beef dishes.I like it ok, but I just have never cooked a lot of red meat.  I found this recipe and thought it sounded like a nice alternative to the typical stir fry type meal we usually make.  It was quick and easy to make and tasted very good.  I was actually surprised that I liked it as well as I did.  It had just enough orange flavor to add to the taste, but not so much that it overwhelmed it.  If you don’t like things spicy, still add the jalapeno because it adds a nice flavor… just take out the rib and seeds and it isn’t spicy at all (just remember to wash your hands after you do this… if you’ve ever done that and then wiped your eyes you know that it is not a pleasant experience).  I actually kind of wish I didn’t take them out, it would’ve been nice a tad bit hotter for me.

 

Anyway, here’s the recipe. Give it a try!

 

Orange Beef and Broccoli

1 bunch of broccoli

1 1/4 c beef broth

3 T hoisin sauce

2 T soy sauce

2 T plum sauce (I couldn’t find this at Lowe’s so I just added a tiny bit more hoisin and soy)

1/4 c cornstarch

Grated peel of 1 orange, juice of 1/2 orange, plus wedges for serving

One 1 3/4 lb boneless sirloin steak

1/4 c vegetable oil

1 jalapeno chile, thinly sliced

 

1.  In a large skillet, bring 2 cups salted water to a boil.  Cut the broccoli into 1 inch florets.  Boil until crisp-tender, about 3 mkinutes; drain the broccoli and rinse under cold water.  Reserve the skillet.

2.  In a small bowl, stir together the broth, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, plum sauce and 1 tablespoon cornstarch.  Stir in the orange peel.

3.  Slice the steak 1/4 inch thick, then cut the slices crosswise into thirds, toss with the remaining 3 T cornstarch.  **TIP** If you don’t have a pair of kitchen scissors, I think they are the best thing ever.  Cutting raw meat with a knife is not fun, but cutting it with scissors is a million times quicker and easier.  It’s also nice to have a second pair for herbs.

4.  In the reserved skillet, heat the oil over medium-high heat.  Add the steak and jalapeno and cook, turning, until the meat is barely pink, about 2 minutes.  Transfer to paper towel lined plate; discard the excess oil.  Add the broth mixture to the skillet and cook, stirring, until thickened, about 2 minutes.  Stir in the meat, broccoli and juice from the 1/2 orange and cook until heated through, about 2 minutes.  Serve  with the orange wedges. 

 

We served it over rice and topped it with chow mein noodles because they are one of my favorite foods!

 

Leave a Reply

