Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Creamy Ham, Veggies and Pasta October 20, 2008

Filed under: Entrees — lindsayrose @ 11:47 pm

I am slightly obsessed with the dinner we had tonight.  I don’t know why, because it wasn’t anything all that special, but it just tasted so good to me.  I started out making a recipe that I got from my Mom, and I wrote on the recipe card that it was from my Aunt Molly, so I guess that is where it originated.  I ended up straying from the recipe quite a bit, part on purpose and part accidentally.  I am going to post the original recipe first, and then post what I actually did.

 

Ham and Vegetables Mostaccioli

1 1/2 c mostaccioli pasta

2 c sliced zucchini (can use peas, too)

1/2 c sliced green onion

4 tsp cornstarch or flour

1/4 tsp dried marjoram

1 13 oz can evaporated skim milk

1 c cooked ham cut into strips

 

Cook pasta, set aside.  In saucepan, combine vegetable, onion, 1/4 c water.  Bring to boiling, reduce heat.  Simmer, covered 4-5 minutes until veggies are tender.  Drain well, return to saucepan. Meanwhile, for sauce, in small saucepan, combine cornstarch or flour, marjoram and a little evaporated milk.  Add pepper to taste.  Stir in remaining milk all at once.  Cook and stir until thick and bubbly.  Stir sauce, ham and pasta into veggies.  Heat through.

 

Well, here’s what I did.  I haven’t made the original recipe in awhile, but I think I ended up liking this better.  Once I had to stray at first to accommodate the ingredients I had, I just figured I’d just start adding random stuff, since that is the main reason I love to cook.  It was good!

 

2 c cellentani pasta (’cause it was cute and swirly looking)

2 c sliced zucchini

1/2 onion, diced (I didn’t realize the recipe said green onion, so this was a mistake, but I liked the flavor)

8 oz fresh mushrooms (saw them sitting in the fridge and figured why not)

3 T flour

3 T butter (call me Paula Deen, but cream sauce needs butter)

couple shakes of dried thyme (what is marjoram anyway?  I sure don’t have any, so I picked my own spices)

couple shakes of dried sage

1 13 oz can evaporated milk

1 1/2 -2 c cooked ham, diced

3/4 c mozzarella cheese (noodles and cream sauce need cheese if you ask me, but if you don’t like it or are allergic, it isn’t necessary for the consistency of the sauce)

salt and pepper to taste

 

Boil pasta.  In a large skillet, saute onion, zucchini and mushrooms in 1/4 c water until tender.  Drain, season with salt and pepper.  Return to burner on low heat.  Meanwhile, for sauce, melt butter in medium saucepan.  Whisk in flour. Slowly add evaporated milk, whisking as you add it.  Stir in thyme and sage and salt and pepper if desired.  Once thickened, add mozzarella cheese until melted.  Add cream sauce to vegetable mixture.  Stir in ham and allow to heat through. Once pasta is finished cooking, Add veggies and sauce to drained pasta in stockpot.  Stir and serve.  Sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on top if you want!

 

This took less than 30 minutes to make.

 

Leave a Reply

