Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Home Sweet Home October 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayrose @ 1:10 pm

We’re back!  Our honeymoon in the Riviera Maya was absolutely wonderful.  I’ve never been so spoiled in my whole entire life.  I am scared to go out to eat here because I might get arrested.  With the all inclusive trip, I have gotten used to going out to eat, ordering as many courses as I want and then just getting up and leaving.  No checks!  I didn’t even carry a purse or a wallet all week.  It was the ultimate relaxation.  If you are looking to take a great trip for a pretty good deal (not cheap, but a good deal for all that you get) look into the Secrets Capri in the Riviera Maya.  There are not enough good things to say about it, and not a single bad thing to mention.  It was heaven.

 

Oddly, as pampered as I was all week, and with all of the gourmet meals that I ate, I was craving a meal my Mom used to make the whole time I was away.  Italian Crescent Casserole is by no means gourmet, but just a really good meal.  Here’s the recipe:

 

1 lb ground beef

1/2 onion, diced

1/2 green pepper, diced

1 T olive oil

8 oz can of tomato sauce

1 envelope spaghetti sauce mix

1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 cup mozzarella cheese

1 tube crescent rolls

2 T butter, melted

1/3 c parmesan cheese

 

Heat oven to 375.  Brown beef, pepper and onion in olive oil.  Once browned, add tomato sauce and spaghetti sauce mix.  Bring to a boil.  In a bowl, mix together sour cream and mozzarella cheese.  Spread meat mixture in bottom of 9×13 dish.  Dollop cheese mixture on top and spread.  Lay out flat crescent roll dough on top to cover.  Mix together melted butter and parmesan cheese and spread over the top.  Bake for 18-25 minutes.

 

Here are a couple of pictures from our trip:

 

2 Responses to “Home Sweet Home”

  1. kiminsanford Says:

    I’m so happy that the wedding and honeymoon were everything you wanted them to be! But, what is that first picture all about? You’re in a fabulous resort in an exotic setting and you’re in the room eating PIZZA?????

    By the way — I ran into Suzette and her Mom at Myra’s and we had dinner together and talked shamelessly about you two behind your backs!!! ha-ha-ha (don’t worry – it was all good…)

    Welcome back to reality!

  2. lindsayrose Says:

    Don’t worry Kim, we had gourmet meals every night, the pizza was our midnight snack from room service! There was a brownie and ice cream there too, but I think it is hiding behind the fruit bowl!

    I heard the gala was a hit! Congratulations! I am sure you are glad it is over.


Leave a Reply

