Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Chicken Noodle Soup September 24, 2008

Filed under: Soups — lindsayrose @ 12:51 am

A few weeks ago, I posted about  buying a whole chicken that we were going to make several meals out of.  We froze the broth and some of the meat off of the chicken and brought it out tonight to make chicken noodle soup.  In my original post, I described how I boiled the chicken.  The flavor of the broth really depends on what you add to the pot while you are boiling the meat.  I came up with that mixture based on combining a few different recipes I saw, plus just some things that I thought belonged.  Tonight for the soup, I poured the broth into a large stockpot and added

 

3 carrots, peeled and cut into chunks

1/2 onion, diced into medium sized chunks

3 stalks of celery, sliced

1 bay leaf

1 tsp salt

3-4 turns of the peppermill

 

It seemed like I needed a little more broth, so I added 2 cups of chicken broth to the pot.  I wanted leftovers!  I let the mixture simmer for about a half hour, brought it to a boil and added 2 handfuls of egg noodles.  After allowing them to boil (about 6-8 minutes), I added the chunks of chicken from when we originally boiled it.  We had this with some grilled Swiss paninis (because we seem to eat paninis about daily now).  It was a nice, warm and fulfilling meal!

 

Leave a Reply

