Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

My Birthday Favorite September 21, 2008

Filed under: Entrees — lindsayrose @ 11:44 pm

It’s not my birthday, not even close really.  But I’m making it anyway.  Goulash was always one of my favorite meals.  I find that funny, because my Mom is a wonderful cook and made something different practically every night of my life it seems.  She was always experimenting, clipping recipes from magazines and buying new cookbooks.  We had many really amazing meals.  For some reason, a meal where you dump a bunch of cans of stuff into a pot and bake it was my favorite.  Each year on our birthday, we had the chance to pick what we wanted for dinner.  I can remember many years where my choice was goulash. 

 

Tonight, when Ross and I knew we needed to use the ground turkey in the fridge, a lightbulb went off in my head.  I wanted goulash.  I think a conversation at work a week or two ago triggered my craving.  Somehow I got to talking about goulash with a co-worker.  It is one of those meals that can be something completely different, depending on who is making it.  While she admitted that my family recipe for goulash sounded pretty foreign, she also admitted that it sounded good.  And it is.

 

Here it is:

1 lb hamburger (or ground turkey)

1 onion, chopped

2 green pepper, chopped

1 can cheddar cheese soup

1 can tomato soup

1 16 oz can stewed tomatoes

1/2 bag egg noodles

A splash of milk

Boil noodles.  Saute ground meat, peppers and onions.  Combine all ingredients in casserole dish.  Bake at 350 30-45 minutes.  Do not cover.

 

Although I have a very strict “no food is allowed to touch on my plate” rule, this is delicious served with corn, and it is even ok if they mix together a little bit on the plate!

 

4 Responses to “My Birthday Favorite”

  1. kiminsanford Says:

    You’re right about goulash being different depending on who makes it! My mom made it in a pot with elbow macaroni, ground beef, onions, celery, green peppers, crushed tomatoes, tomato sauce and spices. But, when I first ordered it at the Bavarian Brat Haus, I was surprised to see what they called their “soup” – goulash – as a thick beef gravy with big chunks of tender roast beef – more like beef stew without the vegetables!

  2. Jamie Says:

    This post brought back a great memory.

    When I was about 9 or 10, my aunt and uncle had my grandmother and I over for dinner. Goulash was the main course, but beforehand they served us shrimp cocktail from really fancy glasses. And there were cloth napkins, and they used the good silver. It was my first “grown-up” dinner – and my introduction to my obsession with “good food.”

    A night I will never forget.

  3. lindsayrose Says:

    Ahhhh, now I’m craving shrimp cocktail! That party sounds like fun now, but would have felt even more special as a kid!

    Kim – did you try the goulash at the Brat Haus? Was it good?

  4. kiminsanford Says:

    Yes – the Brathaus goulash is amazing! Really rich, thick beef gravy and super tender beef chunks! It isn’t goulash to me, but it is fantastic!!!


Leave a Reply

