Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Chicken ‘n Dumplings September 12, 2008

Filed under: Entrees,Life — lindsayrose @ 1:00 am

Today was not my favorite day.  It was not horrible, but it was not my favorite.  First of all, I started my work day at 7:30 and just finished (it’s 8:43).  Granted, I got home at 6:15, but still had a few things that needed to be done in response to issues that came up at the end of the day.  When I got home and began working on one of two letters that needed to be written, I was happy that the thoughts just started pouring out.  Before I knew it, I had almost a full page letter written that said just what I had wanted it to say.  When I went to save, the computer froze.  I had to close out of Word, and although I crossed my fingers when I re-opened it (and made Ross do the same), it was not in that handy little “recovered documents” panel on the left hand side of my screen.  I searched, but it was just not there.  So, I started over…  not a happy way to end my work day.  I just finished re-writing it, but I’m just not as happy with it as I was with the first  one.  Oh well.

 

This week’s weather has also made it a tough week.  All I want to do is curl up and take a nap!  Emily and I had to get a coffee from Cafe 121 (one of the perks of my day) to help us make it through the afternoon.  While this weather isn’t the NC weather that I love, it sure does make it a great day for a comfort meal.

 

Our comfort meal tonight was courtesy of Rachael Ray’s Comfort Foods cookbook.  This cookbook was my first introduction to Rachael, and I love it.  There are so many great recipes in this little book.   Chicken and Dumplings was one of the first recipes I tried after receiving the book as a gift, and I have made it many a time since.  It is quick (30 minutes… imagine that!) and tastes like it simmered in the pot all day.  If this weather keeps up, I suggest you give this meal a try!  It will make you feel all warm and cozy inside, and it’s healthy, too!

 

Chicken and Dumplings

1 lb chicken breasts, cut into chunks

handful of flour

sprinkle of salt and pepper

Old Bay seasoning (I never have this, so I just add whatever spices appeal to me at the moment)

2 T olive oil

3 stalks celery, chopped

3 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 medium onion, diced

2 medium potatoes, peeled and diced

1 bay leaf

1 box Jiffy biscuit mix

2 qt chicken broth

1 c frozen peas (add whatever amount you want)

 

Heat oil in large stockpot over medium high heat.  Toss chicken breast chunks in combination of flour, salt, pepper and Old Bay seasoning.  Add to hot pot and brown on each side, about 3-4 minutes.  Add vegetables and bay leaf, cook for 5 minutes more, covered.  While cooking, prepare biscuit mix as directed on box.  Add broth to chicken and vegetable mixture, bring to a boil (Now’s a good time to taste the broth to see if you want to add any more spices!).  Drop biscuit batter into pot by rounded teaspoonfuls.  Reduce heat to a simmer, cover for 8 minutes.  Add peas, stir and cook for one more minute or until heated through.

 

Enjoy, and go get cozy!  Tomorrow’s Friday!!!

 

3 Responses to “Chicken ‘n Dumplings”

  1. lindsayrose Says:

    I always feel as though I’ve really accomplished something if it sounds yummy to you, Miss Picky! I’ll cut up the chicken for you and then you can make it!

  2. emilypage Says:

    Just make sure you get cut off all the icky parts! 😉


Leave a Reply

