Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Beany Salad September 7, 2008

Filed under: Salads,Side Dishes — lindsayrose @ 6:28 pm

This recipe is courtesy of Miss Katie Thomas.  When Katie worked with me at Stepping Stones, she was always required to make this each time we had a luncheon.  Everyone loved it, and we would always finish it up.  It is a delicious combination of veggies, along with a sauce that is part bitter and part sweet.  While I’ve had the recipe for quite some time, I’ve never been able to bring myself to make it.  It is Katie’s recipe, and one of those that I feel wouldn’t taste the same if I made it. 

 

Well, tonight I am going to a friend’s house for dinner to celebrate the new 90210.  We couldn’t all get together on Tuesday when it premiered, so we are having a premiere party tonight.  Thank goodness for DVR!  Elizabeth loves themes, so of course she is making mega burgers and peach pie in honor of the Peach Pit.  Beany salad really has nothing to do with 90210 (although I am sure Cindy Walsh would approve), but I figured I’d bring it along anyway.  We’ll see if I can come close to Katie on this one…

 

Beany Salad

1 can French cut green beans

1 can white shoepeg corn

1 can baby Le Suer peas

1/2 c onion, finely chopped

1/2 c green pepper, finely chopped

 

1/2 c vegetable oil

1/2 c vinegar (I ran out of white so I used half white and half apple cider)

1 c brown sugar

 

Combine all veggies in a medium sized bowl.  In a saucepan, combine vinegar, oil and brown sugar.  Stir well and bring to a boil.  Pour sauce over veggies and refrigerate overnight.

 

I figure since I messed up with the vinegar, and also won’t have time to refrigerate it overnight, I can blame those reasons if it isn’t as good as Katie’s!

 

Leave a Reply

