Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Sweet Baked Brie September 2, 2008

Filed under: Appetizers — lindsayrose @ 1:24 am

When my Mom visited last week, Ross went to the store and bought her favorite wine and her favorite cheese, which is Brie.  Unfortunately, we weren’t home long enough to ever make the Brie, so I decided to make it to take to the Tipton’s for our Labor Day cookout today.  When Ross told me he didn’t like Brie, I reminded him that he did like this recipe, I had made it for New Year’s a few years ago.  His response was “well, yeah, ummm… that was when we were first dating and I kind of had to pretend I liked it, but now I can tell you that I don’t”.

 

Ummmm, I guess that is a good thing?

 

Anyway, I made it and he DID end up liking it!  Brie is a very tasty cheese, and fun in that it really takes on the taste of however you prepare it.  I like it prepared with something sweet.  This is a recipe that I found in the Broadway Women’s Club Cookbook.

 

Sweet Baked Brie

1/2 c chopped apples

1/2 c dried cranberries

1 T brown sugar

1 T margarine

1 t cinnamon

1/4 c sliced almonds

1 8 oz round Brie (I used a triangular one and that is fine, too!)

 

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine first 6 ingredients. Slice Brie in half horizontally.  Layer 1/2 of Brie, 1/2 of fruit mixture, second 1/2 of Brie and top with second 1/2 of fruit mixture.  Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes.  Serve with sliced French bread.

 

Leave a Reply

