Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

A Busy/Slow Week August 31, 2008

Filed under: Eating Out,Entrees,Life — lindsayrose @ 1:51 am

…Meaning, the week has been busy so the cooking’s been slow.  We had a wedding appointment on Wednesday night, so had a repeat in the crock pot, Thai Pork with Peanut Sauce.  It was still good!  Thursday we were lazy and had grilled cheese and tomato soup.  Every now and then that just tastes so delicious.

 

Friday night we went to a Durham Bulls game.  Unlike my sister, I am definitely not a huge baseball fan.  I do, however, love the atmosphere of a ball park, and I love going to see the Durham Bulls.  I had no idea what was going on most of the game, but I had a good time with my sister, her boyfriend Mark, Ross and my friend Elizabeth.  And by far, my favorite part of going to the ball park is the food.  There is absolutely nothing like it.  I don’t know if the same food would taste as good if eaten elsewhere; it may be in part the atmosphere that makes it taste so good.  Either way, a cold beer, a big cheeseburger and a cup of fries was just sinful on a hot summer evening.  I was in my glory.

 

After the game we headed to Mellow Mushroom.  I don’t know what my deal is with atmosphere and food, but this is another place that has the best food and the most delicious margaritas, but only in the summer when eaten outside.  The pizza and the drinks are just not as good if you aren’t outside.  Really.  However, as soon as the weather starts to warm up each year, my sister and I make a mad dash for Mellow Mushroom.  We enjoyed a late night drink and pizza last night, along with some hot pretzels made out of their pizza dough.  Aaaahhhhh.  So good. 

 

Tonight, we headed to the Carolina game with Ed and Emily and their family.  In the 6 years that I have lived in NC, I have never been to a college sporting event.  I was excited.  We made it through the first quarter, and a tiny bit of the second when they had to evacuate us due to storms coming in.  So, it was a short experience.  We came home and made stir fry with chicken tenders, a bunch of veggies, some teriyaki sauce and water chestunuts.  I had some sesame oil in the pantry, so we used that to sautee it all in.  Before cooking the meat, we coated it in sesame seeds and some garlic powder.  We served it over rice with shrimp sauce and chow mein noodles.  It took about 20 minutes to make, and while it was by no means gourmet, it was pretty tasty. 

 

Hopefully we’ll have some time to cook some new and exciting meals in the days ahead!  I hope everyone is having a great long weekend!

 

One Response to “A Busy/Slow Week”

  1. Jamie Says:

    We were at the Bulls game Friday, too, and I tell you, I have to agree about the fries. We got a family size order and DEVOURED it. Wish we could have stopped by the Mellow Mushroom for some margaritas, but I had two kids to get to bed 🙂


Leave a Reply

