Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Buttermilk Coffee Cake August 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayrose @ 11:30 am

As much as I love to cook, I am a horrible hostess.  I think I have the feeling that everyone should just be at home in my house, so when you’re here, if you’re thirsty… grab a drink.  If you’re hungry… let me know, we’ve got plenty of food.  I don’t always remember to offer stuff, unless I am having a dinner party or something.  Even in that case, I usually get caught up in preparing the food and totally forget to offer anyone a drink.  Luckily, I have an honest sister who has made me very aware of this, so I’ve gotten a little better.  This weekend, I have another chance to prove myself.

 

My Mom arrived in town last night from Rochester, NY.  She’s here to help out with some wedding stuff, her last visit before the big event.  We got in pretty  late last night, and had to visit for awhile, so she is still sound asleep.  We, of course, had to rise quite early – before Luna awakened my Mom in the same manner we are used to.  In an effort to kill some time between 5:30 AM and whenever Mom wakes up, I thought I would see if I had enough ingredients to make muffins of some sort.

 

I couldn’t find a recipe that called for only ingredients that I had on hand, but I did find a coffee cake recipe.  While I haven’t tasted it yet, it is making the house smell delicious.  This one is from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.  I can’t wait to try it warm out of the oven in about 8 more minutes!

 

Buttermilk Coffee Cake

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar

1/2 t salt

2/3 c butter or margarine

2 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t ground cinnamon

1/2 t ground nutmeg

2 beaten eggs

1 1/3 c buttermilk

1/2 c chopped nuts (I left these out)

 

** If you do not have buttermilk you can make sour milk by combining a cup  and 1/3 of milk along with a tablespoon plus one teaspoon of vinegar or lemon juice.  Let sit in a glass measuring cup for about 5 minutes before using.

Grease bottom of 9×13 pan, including sides.  In a medium bowl, combine flour, brown sugar and salt.  Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs; set aside 1/2 cup.  Stir baking powder, baking soda, cinna mon, and nutmeg into remaining crumb mixture.

 

In another bowl, combine eggs and buttermilk.  Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture.  Spoon batter into prepared pan.  Combine reserved crumb mixture and nuts; sprinkle over batter.

 

Bake at 350 for 35-40 min (I set the timer for 30 and it was done), or until a wooden toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Serve warm.

 

Leave a Reply

