Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Weekend Food Makes Me Happy August 17, 2008

Filed under: Entrees,Salads — lindsayrose @ 1:08 am

In addition to our delicious food out at restaurants yesterday, we’ve had some pretty tasty stuff here at home this weekend. 

 

On Thursday, I didn’t get home until after midnight.  Ross is the best ever, because when I walked in the door and opened the fridge to see what I could have for my late dinner, there was a whole meal sitting in the front of the fridge waiting for me.  Along with a piece of lasagna, there was a beautiful salad.   It was a cold steak salad, with mixed greens, green onion, crumbled cheese, cherry tomatoes, fresh crumbled bacon and sliced grilled steak.  He had sprinkled Emeril’s Essence (or BAM as we call it) on both sides of the Porterhouse steak and grilled it for about 6 minutes on each side, brushing it with a little bit of melted butter at the end of grilling.  I topped it with croutons and blue cheese dressing, and although I was exhausted, I sat there in the dark kitchen thinking it was the best salad I’d ever had.  And I am very lucky to have the best guy ever to have made it for me.

 

Today for lunch, we finished off the salad.  Ross made his homemade salsa this afternoon for a snack, which was a treat because we haven’t had it in awhile.  Tonight for dinner we had Chicken Fricassee.  I thought I knew what this was, but apparently I didn’t because when I read the recipe it was nothing like I thought it was.  It sounded better.  It was very easy to put together.  The flavor was great, and although most reviews said it was too spicy, I didn’t think so at all.  It was just right.  I halved the recipe and we still had a whole lot left over.  I decided to make it in the Dutch oven and the meat came out fabulously tender.  We served it over rice.  We’ll definitely have it again!

 

Leave a Reply

