Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Canneloni…or is it manicotti? July 21, 2008

Filed under: Entrees — lindsayrose @ 12:24 am

I had ground chicken that I wanted to use tonight so I searched for ground chicken on several different sites.  On one, I found a recipe for canneloni.  Although I didn’t really like that recipe, I decided that I did want to find a canneloni recipe to make.  I searched and searched, and I just couldn’t find the perfect one.  I finally found one that was close, so I decided to go with it and make some of my own changes.  By the time I was mid way through preparing it, I got to thinking… what is canneloni?  Is this still going to be canneloni the way I am making it, or have I turned it into manicotti or a stuffed shell?   I kept going, but when we finished eating what ended up being a delicious meal, I had to find the definition of canneloni to see exactly what made it that.  Here is what wikipedia says about it: 

Cannelloni is often confused with manicotti, the major difference being that manicotti are preshaped tubes.[1] In Italian, cannelloni literally means “large reeds” , while manicotti means “sleeve”. Although both terms are plural nouns in Italian, the English term is often construed as singular, particularly when used as the name of the dish. The term manicotti is more common in the United States, so the two terms have been used interchangeably.

So I guess we had manicotti?  Who knows.  Either way it was good.  Here is the recipe I used to start with, and below is what I did.

 

Sauce

1/4 c butter (1/2 stick)

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 c flour

1 1/2 t instant chicken boullion

pepper to taste

2 c half and half

1/2 c parmesan cheese

 

Melt butter in medium saucepan.  Add minced garlic and flour, whisk until lumps are out.  Add boullion and pepper.  Remove from heat.  Stir in 1/2 and 1/2 slowly, whisking out lumps while doing so.  Return to medium high heat and bring to a boil, whisking constantly.  Boil and stir one minute.  Reduce heat to low.  Add parmesan cheese and stir until melted.  Set aside.

 

Canneloni

1 box manicotti (or you can make your own canneloni, but I was too lazy for that tonight!)

2 T butter

1 lb ground chicken

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 bunch green onion, chopped

10 oz frozen spinach, thawed and drained (I wrap it in an old dish towel to wring out all of the liquid)

1/2 c parmesan cheese

2 eggs, beaten

small container ricotta cheese

2 eggs, beaten

Italian seasoning to taste, about a teaspoon

salt and pepper to taste

1 jar spaghetti saue of your choice

 

Boil water, add manicotti and boil for 7 minutes.  Rinse with cold water, set aside.

Melt butter, add garlic and green onion.  Add ground chicken, cook completely.  Combine with remaining ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Stuff manicotti with mixture.

Coat bottom of 9×13 pan with red sauce.  Place pasta tubes on top of sauce, top those with the white sauce.  Drizzle red sauce on top of that.  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.  Broil for 2 minutes or so, until white sauce on top is golden brown and bubbly.  Serve with extra red sauce if you prefer.

 

Leave a Reply

