Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Grilled Chicken along with Zucchini Casserole July 18, 2008

Filed under: Entrees,Side Dishes,Vegetarian — lindsayrose @ 12:38 am

We are having a luncheon at work tomorrow and I wanted to make something that I hadn’t taken to work before.  This is a challenge, because like me, many of my co-workers love to eat.  We sometimes joke that we all feel like we put on 10 pounds when we started working there!  We find any excuse to have a luncheon… baby showers, new homes, teacher appreciation week, weddings, birthdays, and sometimes we have one just because we haven’t had one in awhile.  What better reason is there than that?  It’s always fun because everyone has a different style of cooking or baking and brings a different type of food.  I love to try other people’s recipes and have a huge plate with a sampling of a lot of different stuff.

 

Tomorrow we are celebrating a co-workers new home.  I am making a zucchini casserole, and decided to make one for Ross and I to have for dinner tonight as well.  This recipe comes from one of my favorite gifts of all time.  One year for Christmas, my sister made me a special cookbook just for me.  She used a photo album and put 4×6 index cards in each slot with a different recipe on each one.  The reason that this is a perfect gift is because my sister knows me so well.  Therefore, there is no need to weed through it as there are with other cookbooks.  They all sound great to me, because my sister chose them for me and she knows just what I like!  I am sure it took her forever to make it, but if you ever need a good gift idea that is very personal and inexpensive, I recommend it!

 

So, along with our grilled chicken marinated in our favorite Asian Toasted Sesame salad dressing, we will have this zucchini casserole.  And, I get to have it again tomorrow, along with lots of other great dishes made by my friends and co-workers.  It will definitely be something to look forward to at the end of a long and hectic week.

 

Zucchini Casserole

1/2 c margarine

1 c seasoned bread crumbs

4 c chunked zucchini

2 carrots, diced (I used a huge handful of matchsticks because it was easier)

1/2 c sour cream

1 can cream of chicken soup (or cream of celery or mushroom to make it vegetarian)

1/4 c milk

1/2 onion, chopped

 

Melt margarine and stir bread crumbs into margarine, set aside.  Boil zucchini chunks for 5 minutes, drain.  Stir in carrots, onion, sour cream, chicken soup, and milk.  Mix well, then add 1/2 of the breadcrumb mixture.  Mix well.  Pour into greased 9×13 pan (I always use an 8×8 pan or a round baking pan) and top with remaining breadcrumb mixture.  Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

 

Tonight I added parmesan cheese in and mixed it around, then sprinkled a little on top.  I have also topped it with shredded cheddar in the past and that was good as well.  I’ve also added chunks of chicken into this and made it into a main meal.

 

In honor of my great cookbook gift, here is a picture of my sister and I taken a few summers ago.

 

3 Responses to “Grilled Chicken along with Zucchini Casserole”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Sounds delicious! I’m just starting to come around to zucchini – I had a texture aversion to it in the past but no so much anymore.

  2. Lindsay Says:

    Wow, the zucchini casserole does sound good!

    BTW, I just kind of stumbled upon your blog since the URL is so close to mine. I’ve been getting into cooking a lot more lately so your blog has been fun to read! 🙂

  3. Ross Tipton Says:

    It was all soooooo good! 🙂


Leave a Reply

