Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

California Chicken July 11, 2008

Filed under: Entrees — lindsayrose @ 2:53 am

Tonight for some reason… I wasn’t that hungry.  I know, it’s weird and totally uncharacteristic.  It’s something that rarely happens.  I could never skip a meal, so instead of not eating, I just wanted something light.  I had chicken defrosting, so I went to my favorite site, allrecipes.com and searched for “summer chicken”.  I figured that would give me something light and tasty.  I found a bunch of chicken salads, but that seemed like more steps than I was interested in taking.  I scrolled down, went to the next page, and finally found the winning recipe, California Chicken.  It looked tasty, light and easy so I went with it.  I only had to stop for a few ingredients too, which made it a double bonus.

 

You can click on the link above to get the full recipe, but here is the basic idea:  Season some chicken breasts with salt, pepper and onion powder.  Saute in olive oil for a few minutes on each side, until mostly cooked.  The recipe says to just top with sliced tomatoes and monterey jack cheese, but I deglazed the pan with some white wine and sauteed some mushrooms, too.  I topped the chicken breasts with the tomatoes, then the mushrooms, and then the monterey jack cheese.  Bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until the chicken is done (depending on the size of your chicken of course).  Top with sliced avocado and serve.

 

I think this would also taste great with bacon on it.  Of course, that would take away from the whole light idea, but it would taste good.  I ate most of it just as it was, but had to try a few bites dipped in Ranch and that was definitely tasty.  I recommend it!

 

Leave a Reply

