Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Crazy Day July 4, 2008

Filed under: Entrees,Life — lindsayrose @ 12:32 pm

Yesterday was a crazy day.  For a few of the crazy work stories, visit Emily’s blog.  Emily and I ended up being at work until about 7:00 getting ready for today’s 4th of July festivities in Depot Park.  When I left, I had to run by the grocery store and drug store.  I had told Ross I wanted to make chicken pot pie for dinner and I had found a good recipe, so if he could just cook the chicken, I would  do the rest when I got home.  I went to the grocery store and bought all of the remaining ingredients.  While I was waiting in line at the drug store to pick up my prescription, I got a call from Ross…he sounded frantic, desperate and stressed all at the same time.  Apparently Luna, the new puppy, had an accident.  As Ross took her outside to encourage the whole dogs-pee-outside-concept, Sully pulled the pan of chicken (already cooked, thankfully for him) off of the stove and ate it.  I think he is going through some jealousy and rebellion issues with the new puppy, because while Sully is not perfect, he has NEVER done anything like that before.  Ross is convinced the dogs tag-teamed and planned for Luna to pee inside so Ross would be distracted and Sull could get the chicken down.  I wouldn’t be surprised.  I think these two would be capable of that.

 

Anyway, I went back to the grocery store to buy more chicken… and added in a trip to the ABC store at this point… and headed home to make a great meal.  I wanted to make a chicken pot pie that had a different sauce than cream of chicken soup or something like that.  I found this one and will definitely make it again.  The sauce is a combination of butter, evaporated milk, chicken broth and then seasoned with thyme and white wine.  I cut it in 1/2 because we only needed 1 pie for the 2 of us.  However, it does say you can easily freeze the second pie and cook later.  The recipe calls for shredded rotisserie chicken, but we just used chicken tenders chopped and shredded.

 

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Simple-Classic-Chicken-Potpie/Detail.aspx?prop31=1

 

 

Happy 4th of July!  Hope to see you all at Depot Park today!

 

Leave a Reply

