Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Buffalo Chicken July 3, 2008

Filed under: Entrees,Grillin',Life — lindsayrose @ 12:55 am

When I was in high school, I have memories of my friend Alicia and I hanging out after school and each ordering a dozen chicken wings for our after school snack.  Those were the days, of course, when we could eat whatever we wanted and it didn’t seem to matter.  Unfortunately, I can’t still eat like that and fit into my clothes.  I do, however, still love the flavor of buffalo sauce.  Maybe that has something to do with the fact that I grew up next door to Buffalo, NY where the delicious food was born at Anchor Bar.  Or maybe it’s just because it is so darn tasty.

 

When Local Joe’s recently updated their menu to include a Buffalo Chicken sandwich, I had to try it.  Unfortunately for me, I am hooked.  I haven’t eaten anything else there since I had that.  It has a great flavor and tastes so good with an order of homemade chips.  Since I’ve talked about it so much (in case you can’t tell from the fact that I have a whole blog about food, I really love food… not just eating it, but talking about it too), Ross decided to make me Buffalo Chicken at home a few weeks ago.  It too was delicious.  I mentioned I was craving it a day or two ago so he cooked some up for me tonight.  When he told me he added some Asian Sesame salad dressing my first thought was… What?  I was slightly concerned that my craving wasn’t going to be fulfilled with this different twist on one of my favorites.  Once he reminded me that some restaurants serve a garlic soy chicken wing, I was a little more convinced.  Needless to say, it was delicious.  It still had the same wonderful Buffalo flavor, but with a hint of sweetness along with the heat, and just enough of something different without taking away from the original flavor.  Ross gets all of the points for this dinner… all I did was boil some corn on the cob.  That was also delicous, but the thanks goes to the farmers, not me.

 

Buffalo Sauce

2 sticks of butter (this is why it isn’t a regular after school snack anymore)

2 bottle Texas Pete hot sauce (or 1 stick of butter per bottle of TX Pete… less butter = hotter, more butter = milder)

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 c. Kraft Asian Toasted Sesame dressing

1/2 bottle of beer

1 T oregano

1 t cayenne pepper

splash of vinegar

1 t Kosher salt

1 T onion powder

1 T sugar

3 lbs of chicken (we used 1 1/2 lbs of boneless skinless breasts and 1 1/2 lbs of boneless skinless thighs – Ross says that since we ate the skinless chicken it makes it ok that the sauce had 2 sticks of butter)

 

Ross made this recipe up for the most part, so add seasonings to your liking.  He marinated the chicken in the Asian dressing and grilled it until it was almost cooked.  While it was grilling, he simmered the sauce on the stove.  When he brought the chicken in, he added it to the sauce and let it simmer until it had finished cooking.  We thickened the sauce up a bit at the end, but again you can make this to your liking. 

Ross likes his dipped in Ranch, I like mine dipped in Blue Cheese.

 

We had some leftover sauce… I am seeing Buffalo Chicken Pizza in our near future.

 

3 Responses to “Buffalo Chicken”

  1. Melissa W Says:

    Mmmmmm…buffalo chicken has been a craving of mine for a few days. Good thing I’m not worrying about the butter content of food right now!

  2. jamiestamm Says:

    This sounds great. We’ll have to try it sometime.

    BTW, Jerry and I have fallen in love with that Kraft Asian Toasted Sesame dressing. We’ve had salad as our veggie every night this week just so we can use it. Isn’t that pathetic?

  3. […] Buffalo Chicken — This is something I’ve been craving, and even cutting it in half should leave us plenty of leftovers! […]


Leave a Reply

