Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Greek Pitas with Tzatziki Sauce and the Wonderful Wegmans! May 26, 2008

Filed under: Entrees,Grillin' — lindsayrose @ 1:12 pm

We had Greek pitas tonight, one of our favorites.  When my Mom came to visit a few weeks ago, she brought me some of my favorite marinade, Lemon Garlic from Wegmans.  If you aren’t from the Upstate NY area, you may not know about Wonderful Wegmans – and if that is the case – I am sorry for you!  Wegmans is pretty much the best place in the world.  It is a grocery store, but SO much more.  They have a dry cleaner, a video store, photo lab, pharmacy, pizza shop, Chinese restaurant, Olive Bar, Chese Bar, sub shop, the most amazing bakery ever (nothing like a “grocery store bakery”, but more along the lines of a fine bakery you would drive miles to get to).  My Mom told me they have even added a spot where you can get your makeup done or a massage.  It is a beautiful store and they are great to their employees.  I can’t even tell you what the level of my excitement would be if Wegmans came to NC.  I keep my fingers crossed all the time.  So, when family comes to visit, Kara and I put together a list of things we need from Wegmans, and my list this time included this marinade! 

 

My Dad always used this marinade with chicken and it was the best.  Ross came home from the grocery store yesterday with a pork tenderloin and suggested putting the marinade on that.  I spotted feta and yogurt in the car and got really excited… we were going to have pitas!  We marinated and grilled the pork.  Ross made Tzatziki sauce, a Greek yogurt based sauce that is so delicious, either as a dressing or just as a dip with pitas.  Kara used to work in a Greek restaurant and I was introduced to this sauce then. Ross found this recipe for it http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,,FOOD_9936_15500,00.html which tastes very authentic and it’s great.  Make sure you either use Greek yogurt or buy regular yogurt and drain the water out either through a cheesecloth or through a coffee filter covered strainer. We do the same with the cucumber, shred it and chop it and drain all of the water out of it.  The sauce is a MILLION times better without all of the water in it.  Emeril’s essence recipe is listed, which is great, but if you don’t feel like making that just sprinkle in some of the spices.  Put the meat in the pitas, top with Tzatziki and crumbled feta, lettuce, tomatoes and onion and you will have a delicious, healthy meal!

 

4 Responses to “Greek Pitas with Tzatziki Sauce and the Wonderful Wegmans!”

  1. Kim Says:

    I know Wegmans!!!!! I am from Albion, NY – about 1/2 way between Buffalo and Rochester and also lived and worked in Brockport (a little closer to Rochester), where there is a Wegmans. I did all my shopping there when I lived in Brockport and we also drove in there from Albion for special shopping trips! LOVE IT!!!!

  2. lindsayrose Says:

    I am from Churchville! I went to SUNY Brockport during my senior year of high school. What a small world! My parents live in Rochester now, so I am back in that area a few times a year. I was hoping someone else would understand what Wegmans is all about… it is hard to describe!

  3. Kim Pritt Says:

    I am always amazed at what a small world this is!!! My Mom, brother, and some other family are still up in Albion, so I too get up to that area at least a couple times a year. In fact, I just got home from being up there over the Memorial Day weekend.

  4. […] Luckily, Kara told me that she’d been craving Greek food, so knowing that Ross makes the best tzatziki sauce in the world, Greek Night was the obvious […]


Leave a Reply

