Anyone Hungry?

Ideas, suggestions and thoughts on my favorite topic.

Special Vegetarian Quiche May 13, 2008

Filed under: Vegetarian — lindsayrose @ 1:23 am

I have no recollection of this recipe.  I found it on a recipe card in my box and it is in my writing, so I apparently copied it down at some point.  I have no idea where it came from, though!  I made it for the veggies in the family on Mother’s Day, but we all enjoyed it.

 

1 sheet frozen puff pastry

1 bag fresh spinach

4 T water

1/4 t ground nutmeg

1 onion, chopped

2 T butter

5 eggs

1 c. cottage cheese

1 c. shredded cheddar

salt and pepper to taste

2 tomatoes, thinly sliced

 

Preheat oven to 400.  Spray pie dish with cooking spray.  Line dish with puff pastry, press into place and trim away excess. 

Cook spinach with water in large skillet, drain well. Add nutmeg and puree.

Sautee onion in butter until soft. 

In medium bowl, beat eggs.  Stir in cottage cheese, spinach and 1/2 c. of cheese.  Season with salt and pepper. 

Arrange onions in bottom of dish, place tomatoes on top.  Pour egg mixture on top.  Sprinkle with remaining cheese.

Bake 45-50 min. or until set.  Serve hot or cold.

 

I was rushing and totally forgot to puree the spinach with the nutmeg, but I might do it again (on purpose) next time.  I really liked it the way it was.  Could be good either way!

 

 

Leave a Reply

